HighOrder1

Adapting older Samsung to newer Samsung

Hi!

I have no experience with the Samsung line, and very little IP.

Client wants to upgrade to a SDE-5002 16 channel DVR(already purchased and sitting on the desk, so no choice there), but he wants to integrate the existing Samsung cameras (1 SOD14DC, 1 SSC21DC, 2 SSC-21C's, and 2 SOD-14C's).

It appears the newer system uses an internal balun. The older cameras only look like they have three wires in them (getting ready to crack one open now).

Is there a simple solution here? Can I just adapt from RJ12 to 45, or is there no balun setup in the older cameras?

Thanks in advance,

Shawn

I doubt either end use baluns - on a cheap system like this, they're probably just straight-through connections. The three wires on the camera will be video, +12V, and a common power/video ground. You'd need to determine the same pins on the DVR and create custom cables or adapters to match up the appropriate lines. And even then, there's a chance it won't work.

Honestly, these types of systems - using RJ- or DIN connectors to put power, video and audio on one connector, are nothing but trouble in the long run and should just go away. From what I can find on that Samsung unit, it goes for around $1000 with cameras - this unit (http://www.nellyssurplus.com/servlet/the-1594/Dahua-ESDV-dsh-FULLD1-dsh-16-16-Channel/Detail) has better specs, sells for $650, and will work with pretty much any cameras out there, so you can select the proper camera for each location, rather than trying to force their generic cameras to fit.

Honestly, these types of systems - using RJ- or DIN connectors to put power, video and audio on one connector, are nothing but trouble

+1

the other problem is you are doing this for a customer. the samsung has camera power also built in if you make just 1 bad guess at the connection type you will pop there DVR.

it is much easier to convert the samsung cameras to BNC than it is to add them to a RJ system.

Well...