azmp1

help on DRV card software/wireless camera

Hi All, i am in need of some help please.

I'm new to this, so forgive me if i sound ignorant on some qestions.

I've setup a cheap cctv system for my home, i only need it for monitoring my kids and the nany during the day and don't need anything fancy.

here's the what i did. i've purchased (on ebay) a cheap 4 port DVR card that came with pico2000 version 1.8 software, i've also purchased (too on ebay) 2 (so far) wireless 1.2ghz generic spy cams.

the card was installed in windows 2003 server located in the basement, one camera was setup on the first floor in the linving room and the other camera was set up in one of the bedrooms upstairs, with both receivers located near the server and connected to the DVR card.

the setup was pretty easy and both the DVR card and the cameras are functioning OK.

But here are my questions though.

1. Can i use any other software with this DRV card other then pico2000, as i'd like to have the webserver capabilities to be able to publish the feeds and view over internet? I think the card i have is a UCC4A model.

2. Can anyone recommend an inexpensive wireless spy cam that will give me a better range then the 2 i bought on ebay? Even though in the description they advertised that you can get 1000 feet line of site and 500 feet through walls range the camera that is on the second floor has a very bad picture (the one on the first floor is ok though).

I appreciate all the help.

Thanks

Alex

The keyword here is Ebay.

Good thing there are places like this forum for "free" advice on products that were sold on Ebay. My suggestion is contact the seller on Ebay and ask them to support their own products. Hope it al works out for you.

scottj

you know man, there are always people like you in all forums that just give smart a$$ answers instead of trying to help. people like you give bad names to a good forum... shame.