Sign in to follow this  
SteveW0720

Wireless point-to-point bridge newbie here!

Long story short, the nature of my business is integrated security over large, open areas of land, and my installations will typically include a wireless bridge, sometimes point to multi point.

I feel as though my business is losing out on significant revenue by outsourcing these portions of my projects, and I would like to know from some of you more-seasoned wireless technicians, where should I begin with introducing this to my business?

-Is there a vendor where the equipment is less specialized, more user friendly and easier to setup/configure?

Most of my solutions are cloud-based, but I do use onsite DVR's often, and are there any DVR/NVR's you would recommend integrating with this solution best?

Sorry that was so long, but any help is greatly appreciated!

-Steve

For our Larger Civic Wireless Applications we use Proxim 8xxx series primary radios on towers, and 81xx subscriber radios at remote locations. this is a 300MB/50MB solution out to about 5 miles given clear views. Proxim also makes excellent P/T Bridges. Proxim, and now others are offering a special hybrid frequency hopping encoding within the 2/5 frequencies to protect the transmissions while still using unlicensed freqs.

Another player on the market, with a proprietary encoding method, at a significant cost advantage is Microtik. they have an extensive network of worldwide consultants and resellers. The upper solution can exceed 8K quite easily, while a similar solution with MT might not exceed 3K...

MT also has a very capable, and free SNMP / Router management system called DUDE.

there is a place for each of these solutions, and experience determines the choice..

Cheers - Andrew

Long time no post from me Just searching to see what others were doing/have done with wireless having just sorted my own.