Hi All,

My IP camera came with bundled software that only partially works. The VMS software only downloads the uninstallation program! Two things I should mention at this stage is that my camera was cheap and does not have a name and also it is hard-wired to my router. I can view it in my browser, so at least I know it's working, but can't alter any of the settings. I have tried a few free VMS tools and just cant get any joy; none of them could locate the camera.

So, now I am using Milestone Essential (trial version). After a struggle, the cam has been located as a PSOE compliant device and is verified; but that`s as far as I can get. When I go into the camera view all I get is no video, and after a few seconds, a timed out message.

I am new to this but am very keen to learn. Is there anybody out there that can help?

Thanks in advance.

Roy

Hi,

Yes it is ONVIF compliant. I have tried to get in touch with the manufacturer but I am being ignored. This was an ebay purchase and they are now helping me to get some satisfaction. Like I said, it was cheap, but the image quality for both day and night are actually quite good, which is why I would like to persevere with getting it working properly.

So what was it that you bought out of curiosity?

If you look at the Milestone logs they will tell you a bit more about what's going on...

maybe try dropping the Camera's output resolution to Milestone, when I was testing crappy camera's some of them required the resolution to be dropped before they would work reliably with Milestone

Hi MR2 and thanks for your interest.

Thats the problem I have got; I cant adjust anything on the camera, because I cant get to the settings. All I can do is view the camera from my home PC. I cant get Milestone (or any other VMS program), to 'see' it. In other words, it is not accessible through the internet; I can see it, but you would not be able to, even if you had the password.