Sign in to follow this  
Bestrafung

Amovision Compatibility with other Cameras / Software

I'm new to IP cameras and after some trial and error found some Amovision AM-C7325 cameras that fit our budget and seem to do really well, especially in low-light conditions. I'm on a very tight budget and am trying to make everything work with free or included software. The problem I now face is I need an outdoor (IP66) PTZ camera that will work in low-light and will either work with the Amovision software or includes software that both brands will work under. My budget only allows for at most $600 for the PTZ camera which makes this difficult. I don't need a fancy 18x or higher optical zoom, just a ~2MP camera that works in low-light. I tried the iSpy Connect opensource software only to find it's not very friendly and the video stream is not as clear as using the built-in web viewer or Amovision software. I've heard there are some good software choices available but again my budget is pretty tight. I'd appreciate any recommendations regarding camera and software to help get this setup. Thanks in advance.

The best buy in a decent PTZ is the Dahua 2MP with 3X optical zoom, costs about $599. It does not have IR LEDs. If you are looking for that, it ups the price ante.

Amovision claims compatibility with various products including BlueIris, Milestone, Dahua, Hikvision and other software. When you deal with open source like Zoneminder or iSpyConnect, you almost have to be a software engineer to figure them out. On top of that, the lower the cost of the software, the higher the CPU uses, sort of a formula there somewhere. So what you save on software you make up by having to buy a more powerful processor. If you are looking for free software, here's what's out there that I know of;

Zoneminder - runs on Linux, free open source, requires an RTSP URL string to work.

iSpyConnect - you already tried that, open source