Sign in to follow this  
TSHERV

Newbie question - Manufacturing facility design

Hi,

I am new to the topic of surveillance systems and could use some help with system design. I work for a small 3 shift manufacturing company, and we are contemplating installing a camera system for the following reasons: employee productivity, security, and safety. I have 2 different rooms I'd like to cover. The first room is 50' x 141'. All areas are well lit and in a decent environment (no harsh conditions). Everything in the room is low (all equipment shorter than 6' tall) with no obstructions. The second room is larger. It's approximately 80' x 141' with conditions similar to the other area (well lit, etc.). Both areas have high ceilings.

I started working with a professional installer and the price went up fast. They were looking at around $10,000 to $15,000 just to get started. Some of the cameras they were quoting were $1,800 each (4 lens camera). This type of system is more than what I need. Right now I have no system, and am looking at getting started. We have gotten by for 40 years without a system. I don't feel I need anything high end.

I have a maintenance department that can run all of the CAT6 cable for me. We have the ability (maintenance dept & IT) to be able to install our own system. I'd like to spend more in the $3,000 range for a system. I'd like to be able to have mobile access to the cameras and be able to store 2 to 3 weeks of video. Here are my questions:

1) What kind of distance / range does a typical IP camera have?

2) What's the difference between a dome and a bullet camera?

3) Does anyone have a recommendation for a system?

4) I have a Costco nearby. Are the AvertX systems any good? Would these type of systems serve our purpose?

Thanks!

Hi TSHERV,