Sign in to follow this  
J4TH

Recommendation on managing multiple off site cctv systems

Hello all,

Glad to be part of the forum. I've got very little experience in surveillance and wanted to inquire. In the past 3 years I've meddled in cctv installations for personal use (home, office, etc.). Mostly simple analog designes, and recently an IP system using what looks to be a Dahua based NVR. Sadly I ran into some limitations. I tried one of the free VMS' available for PC, namely AxxonNext's free version.

I'm looking to start a new system that's a little more complex, and have no idea what to look for. I've got two small offices I want to put some IP cameras in and be able to view them all on one VMS at my home.

I saw iDVR's execution of their analogue solution with their multiple DVR viewer software, EMS, and was looking for the IP counterpart. I was under the impression that generally most VMS's would have this function and tried experimenting with AxxonNext's free version without any success.

I did read that HikVision's software was capable of this, and a thread on this forum did suggest that it did, but was limited to viewing each separate CCTV site individually and not simultaneously.

Another youtube channel MXInstaller suggested that Mobotix cameras could be fitted with SD cards and act as the NVRs themselves which a far off site VMS could tap into.

Would anyone knowledgeable and experienced in centralizing multiple off-site surveillance care to point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance

- J4

Hi tomcctv. Thanks for the recommendation. I'll do my research on that. Any other alternatives? We have a geovision distributor nearby. I'm not sure if they had the features I am looking for. Are they any good?

Currently playing around with the Dahua Smart PSS. Thanks again tomcctv. It certainly does work, though I am now wondering what brand systems are compatible with this.