petpeeps

Geovision NVR won't playback recorded video

Hi everyone,

I'm the noob needing some help.

When using Geovision NVR software (8.6.2.0), I seem to be unable to playback any recorded video.

If I right-click and choose Instant Play, the player opens for a split second and then closes again immediately.

If I open GV Remote Viewlog manually, no events are listed at all to be able to play the video back.

I installed GV-NVR using all the default options.

It took me a while to figure out that "monitor" is Geovision speak for "record", so I have the camera set to record ok.

There are plently of AVI files in the GV-NVR/cam01 directory, but I can only play them back using Windows Media player at the moment which isn't really much use.

I have only one camera at the moment which is a GV-FE4301 fisheye.

I have some experience with the wonderfully simple Avtech DVR's, but I'm completely new to the world of IP cams. While I have muddled my way through ok so far, I'm completely lost trying to get this thing to playback properly.

If anyone can suggest something that I've missed or muddled up I would very much appreciate the help.

Cheers,

Col

you want to click on the icon that is the paper with the magnifying glass, then video/audio log (F10). This opens the program you view recorded events in. Then you pick the camera and the time you want to play. I've never used anything program other than Geovision, as I too am new to IP cameras. While there are a lot of things I do like about Geovision, I don't find their software to be very intuitive. You can always call/chat/email the geovision office in the USA (Im assuming you are in the USA) for more help. If you call, the person that answers the phone can help you, pretty amazing these days.

http://www.usavisionsys.com/