Hi all,

I am quite new to the world of surveilance so please be gentle with me.

My question is: Is there anything on the market that can take a coaxial (or other) signal from a camera (or camera's) and record the video direct to a external hard drive, fundamentally bypassing a PC or Laptop.

My reasons for this question are:

1. I use my Laptop for work, but dont use my external hard drive

2. I dont like the idea of leaving my lap top on all the time (heat issues)

3. Far easier to conceal a external hard drive

I have found a USB DVR-box from Rapidos - RM-1060S(RW-KTS04U)

and it is absoloutely perfect but (i think) requires direct intervention with a pc (i presume for the software to work its magic)

I do feel this request is a bit of a long shot but i just, honestly, dont know if such a piece of hardware exists.

Many, many thanks in advance.

I was talking to the guy at ILDVR and he said they are coming out with a camera that will still have standard output, but also be IP enabled and a USB port. Plug the camera directly into a USB hard drive and you have a very basic DVR, no pc required!

How about a stand alone embedded DVR??

Or depending on the need, a portable DVR?

I was talking to the guy at ILDVR and he said they are coming out with a camera that will still have standard output, but also be IP enabled and a USB port. Plug the camera directly into a USB hard drive and you have a very basic DVR, no pc required!

very, very interesting...i thought there was a possible gap in the market for one moment.

I need my laptop for work but i dont ever use my external HD for work and saving the little penny's is important to me.

Thank you

I would recommend the Geovision Video Server.

You can connect 1 or 2 analog cameras to it via coax and a USB hard drive. It is accessable via IP if you want to connect it to a network.