RBraverman

Kodicom and backing data - VERY long time

Ok, I'm new to THIS software, but not so much to security. I've a 16 port card and V4.110 of Kodicom and have 3 main problems:

1. When I search remotely, it doesn't "fast forward", it'll skip through, but not FF as if sitting at the console.

2. When selecting a hour's worth of backup DATA, it'll take close to 3x the time of the selected time frame to backup over a gigabit connection.

3. On my desktop, the backup will stop randomly and never finish.

These seem to be problems, any ideas?

The "server" is a PIII/1 gig Celeron, with 512 meg memory.

Edited by Guest

Hi, firstly I would check with Kodicom or one of their system builders as they dont sell cards to end users. But more then likely its due to the PC system itself, 1Ghz CPU is very slow for Windows XP embedded or regular XP. Also, if the system is that old, it could be a bad hard drive also.

Hi, firstly I would check with Kodicom or one of their system builders as they dont sell cards to end users. But more then likely its due to the PC system itself, 1Ghz CPU is very slow for Windows XP embedded or regular XP. Also, if the system is that old, it could be a bad hard drive also.

I know the system is a bit old, runs XP Pro dandy, the HD's fine. I've assumed it's the speed of the 'server', so sometime in the next few days I'm going to put into a P4 and see.

But I'm also thinking that it's not converting anything, but just picking out the hour I selected, so why would the computing power have anything to do with it?

Its reading off the hard drive, the hard drive is always a bottle neck in a PC system, if its old or going bad, it could take longer to read from it ..

If its doing live video the same time you are trying to play back, that also affects the CPU. Do Ctrl-Alt-Del and check the CPU usage when you are doing that ... playing video still uses alot of CPU.